The Zarb Homestead

Living natural and healthy on a simple budget

How To Make Apple Butter In a Crock Pot August 20, 2012


I went to visit my Mom and Dad this weekend in Loudon. I don’t get out there as much as I like but I try to go at least once a month and stay for the day. My mother had just went to the Amish farm that morning and had gotten a little too much and decided to give me some of the extra. Well, knowing good and well I can’t eat 4 pounds of apples, a box full of tomatoes, and about 7 pounds of sweet potatoes, I had to find some way of using it all before it went bad. Thus, I had to learn the art of canning!

Yes canning, like your grandmother use to do. I had no clue where to start so of course I went to my go-to source, Mr. Google. There I found recipes for all my vegetables and the fruits and decided to spend my Sunday learning how to can. I started with an easy recipes for apple butter that you can make in a Crock Pot. I don’t know if apple butter is poplar everywhere in America but in the south this is a staple pantry product and one of my favorites. Anyways, I thought I would share this easy recipe and please note you DO NOT have to can the apple butter. You can make it and stick in the fridge. Just eat it soon, enjoy!

  • Approximately 3 lb. apples (I did around 4 pounds)
  • 3 cups sugar (you can sub 1 cup of sugar for 1 cup honey if you like your butter a little less sweet)
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves (I did not have cloves so I just left them out and it turned out great)
  • Dash of salt
  • 3/4 cup water or fresh apple cider

 

First: Fill Crock-pot 3/4 full with peeled, cored and sliced apples.

I have this apple peeler my mother-in-law gave me that worked out great for this project. It peels and can core and spiral cut the apples all at once but I just used it to peel them this time.

image

After peeled cut up into small pieces.

image

Fill up your slow-cooker with apples

image

Add all the spices and stir. Let this cook for about 8 hours or overnight on low. If apple butter has too much liquid, remove lid and cook on high until thickened. Stir often as butter thickens to prevent scorching.

When mine was finished I ran it the blender because I still had quite a few clumps. Worked great and tasted delicious.

On a side note: Making this makes your house smell wonderful!

image

If You Want To Can The Apple Butter

Get your jars ready: I soaked the lids and jars in a hot water bath for about 15 mintues

imageimage

Then place them on a cooling rack to dry.

image

Fill your jars with 1/4 head room that the top for expansion and fingertip tighten the lids. Place jars into boiling water for about 10 minutes. Remove and  let cool and tighten lids. You should hear some popping when the jars are sealed. If you have some that do not pop simply place in the fridge and enjoy it now verses later.  Apple butter can be stored in refrigerator for up to 6 weeks and in the freezer for longer storage.

image

 

 

Leave a comment